Quick Contact : +977-1-4112122, +977-9700021282 | info@ismt.edu.np
BHM fees in Nepal vary considerably depending on the college, its university affiliation, location, infrastructure, and how the fee structure is organized. There is no single nationwide BHM fee. A government-affiliated BHM at a Tribhuvan University institution can cost meaningfully less than a private college's BHM, and the gap between the lowest and highest published figures across Nepal runs into several lakhs of rupees. This guide breaks down what actually makes up the cost of a BHM degree in Nepal, so you can compare colleges on their real total cost rather than a single advertised number.
Table of Contents
Based on currently available third-party reporting (not an official, centralized government fee table, since none exists for BHM as a whole), total BHM program costs in Nepal commonly range from roughly NPR 2 lakh to NPR 10 lakh for the full four-year degree, depending heavily on whether the college is government-affiliated or private, and on the specific institution.
A few structural points explain why this range is so wide:
Because published figures for private colleges are often reported only by third-party education directories rather than the colleges' own current fee notices, treat any specific number you find online, including ranges cited in this article, as a starting reference point rather than a confirmed quote. Always request the current, written fee structure directly from the college's admissions office before applying.
A BHM fee is rarely just "tuition." Depending on the college, the total cost a student actually pays can include:
Not every college itemizes all of these separately. Some bundle most charges into a single "total program fee," while others list tuition, university fees, and practical fees as distinct line items billed separately. This is exactly why comparing one college's quoted "fee" against another's can be misleading unless you confirm what is actually included in each figure.
BHM is offered in Nepal through a few distinct institutional models, and cost differences largely map onto these categories:
Government/TU-administered institutions. NATHM, a government institution under the Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation and affiliated with Tribhuvan University, is the most established example. It was the first institution to introduce the BHM program in Nepal (in 1999) and runs a 4-year, 8-semester program. A third-party education platform has reported NATHM's total BHM fee at approximately NPR 575,000, covering admission/registration, security deposit, extracurricular activity charges, maintenance, and semester tuition, with university examination fees billed separately. This figure is not sourced to NATHM's own current published notice, so confirm the latest figure directly with NATHM before relying on it.
TU-affiliated private colleges. A number of private colleges across Nepal are affiliated with Tribhuvan University for their BHM program, operating under the same general 4-year degree framework as NATHM but setting their own fees, which are generally higher than NATHM's.
Pokhara University-affiliated colleges. Several private colleges, including institutions in Kathmandu and Pokhara, offer BHM under Pokhara University's affiliation rather than TU's. Fee structures here are also set individually by each college and should be confirmed directly.
Internationally affiliated hospitality programs. A smaller number of institutions deliver a hospitality degree through a foreign university partnership rather than a Nepali university affiliation. These programs often carry a different name (not literally "BHM") and a different fee structure, and are addressed separately later in this article.
This article does not rank these categories or individual colleges as "better," since there is no single, transparent, evidence-based methodology that would support declaring one option universally superior. What differs clearly and verifiably is affiliation, administering body, and typically, cost.
Kathmandu hosts a large share of Nepal's BHM-offering institutions, including NATHM itself. Because Kathmandu-based colleges often have higher operating costs (rent, staffing, facilities) than colleges outside the valley, BHM fees at Kathmandu institutions can run somewhat higher than at comparable colleges elsewhere, though this isn't a rule that holds in every single case.
For any specific Kathmandu college you're considering, confirm:
Given how many Kathmandu-based BHM institutions exist, and how fee structures change between intakes, this article does not attempt to list a comprehensive, dated fee table for every Kathmandu college; doing so responsibly would require verifying each college's current official notice individually. NATHM (Kalimati, Kathmandu) is the one example in this article with a reasonably specific, though third-party-reported, fee figure, detailed above.
Where an institution publishes a semester-wise or year-wise breakdown (rather than only a single total program fee), it typically separates charges such as admission/registration (usually a one-time, first-semester charge), a security deposit (sometimes refundable), extracurricular/examination charges per semester, and semester tuition itself, which may increase slightly in later years at some institutions.
This article does not manufacture a semester-by-semester breakdown for colleges that only publish a total figure, since doing so would require assuming how a college divides its total fee across eight semesters, an assumption this article's sourcing rules specifically prohibit. If a semester-wise schedule matters to your planning, specifically ask your target college's admissions office for their published semester-wise fee notice.
A genuine BHM program combines classroom teaching with substantial hands-on training, and most of this practical component is funded through the fees discussed above rather than billed as a wholly separate cost:
What varies by college is the extent and quality of these facilities (a well-equipped training kitchen and demo restaurant versus more limited facilities), how internship placement support is structured, and whether any of the above are billed as separate add-on charges rather than included in the core fee. Ask to see the specific training facilities and ask how internship placement works before enrolling, not just what the total fee is.
Beyond the fees charged directly by the college, students should budget for a set of costs that are real but not part of the published "fee," and that can meaningfully affect what a BHM degree actually costs a student and their family:
This article does not provide exact figures for these categories, since they vary enormously by student, city, and lifestyle choices, and no single verified source covers all of them. The point worth remembering: the realistic cost of studying BHM, especially away from home, is often higher than the college's advertised tuition figure once these categories are added.
Choosing between a Kathmandu-based BHM program and one in another city involves more than comparing tuition figures alone. Factors worth weighing against each other include:
Kathmandu is not automatically the more expensive overall option in every single case, particularly once tuition, not just living costs, is factored in; some Kathmandu colleges may have lower tuition than a well-resourced private college elsewhere, while living costs in the capital often run higher. Compare the complete picture, tuition plus realistic living costs, for your specific target colleges rather than assuming one city is categorically cheaper.
Scholarship availability varies by institution. Categories commonly seen across Nepali colleges, including hospitality programs, include:
No verified source in this research confirms a "100% scholarship" or full-ride award specifically for BHM at any Nepali institution; where such claims appear on third-party sites, they should be treated skeptically unless the specific institution's own official page confirms the exact terms. Scholarship eligibility, percentage, and duration (first year only versus the full program) differ by institution and by intake, so confirm current terms directly with your target college's admissions office rather than relying on a general claim.
There is no single "best" BHM college in Nepal that fits every student, and this article does not declare one, since doing so without a transparent, evidence-based methodology would be misleading. "Best" depends on what you personally value. Use this comparison framework instead:
Visit shortlisted colleges where possible, ask to see the practical training facilities in person, and request the complete, current fee structure in writing before deciding, rather than relying on a third-party website's description of which college is "best."
There is no single, centralized, official wage survey specifically for BHM graduates in Nepal, so this article does not state a precise, universal salary figure. What can be said generally, based on how the hospitality job market in Nepal is structured, is that compensation varies substantially by role, employer, hotel category, location, and experience:
Actual pay depends heavily on the specific hotel or employer, its star category and size, the city (tourism-hub cities and major hotel chains often pay differently than smaller establishments), the graduate's specific skills and language abilities, and individual performance and experience over time. This article does not promise any specific salary outcome, since no college or article can guarantee a graduate's future earnings.
The exact number and names of subjects vary by university and specific curriculum, so there is no single number that applies to every BHM program in Nepal. As an example, Tribhuvan University's BHM curriculum under the Faculty of Management requires completion of 126 credits across the four-year program, spanning subjects grouped around core management, hospitality, and tourism areas.
Across BHM curricula in Nepal generally (TU, Pokhara University, and similar programs), students commonly encounter subject areas including:
The specific subject list, credit weighting, and elective options differ by university and by individual college's approved curriculum. If subject-level detail matters to your decision, request the current curriculum/syllabus document directly from your target college or its affiliating university.
This doesn't have a simple yes-or-no answer, and this article won't pretend otherwise. Whether a specific BHM program is worth its cost depends on weighing several factors against your own circumstances:
Rather than asking "is BHM worth it" in the abstract, calculate your own total likely cost (tuition plus the additional expenses outlined earlier) against your specific career plan and compare that to your alternatives, including other hospitality qualifications and other career paths entirely.
Before committing to a college, ask these questions directly, in writing if possible:
A college that can answer all of these clearly, in writing, is giving you the information you need to compare it fairly against other options. A college that can only offer a single, vague total figure is harder to compare honestly, and that itself is worth factoring into your decision.
The table below reflects only what could be reasonably sourced during research for this article. Where a figure is third-party-reported rather than confirmed by the institution's own current notice, it is labeled as such. Where information could not be verified at all, the table says "Not publicly disclosed" rather than estimating.
|
College/Institution |
University affiliation |
Location |
Program duration |
Reported total fee |
Source status |
Notes |
|
NATHM |
Tribhuvan University |
Kalimati/Rabi Bhawan, Kathmandu |
4 years / 8 semesters |
~NPR 575,000 (reported) |
Third-party reported, not NATHM's own current notice |
Government institution; admission via two-stage CMAT-based screening; TU exam fees billed separately per the source |
|
Various TU-affiliated private colleges |
Tribhuvan University |
Varies (Kathmandu and other cities) |
4 years / 8 semesters |
Not publicly disclosed in a verifiable, dated form |
N/A |
Generally reported by third parties to run higher than NATHM; confirm individually |
|
Various Pokhara University-affiliated colleges |
Pokhara University |
Varies (including Kathmandu and Pokhara) |
4 years |
Not publicly disclosed in a verifiable, dated form |
N/A |
Fee set individually by each college; confirm directly |
|
ISMT (BSc Hons International Tourism and Hospitality Management) |
University of Sunderland (UK), via BTEC HND pathway |
Kathmandu, Chitwan, Butwal, Biratnagar |
3 years |
Reported inconsistently across third-party listings, roughly NPR 8.37–10 lakh depending on campus and listing |
Third-party reported, inconsistent between sources, not ISMT's own currently confirmed figure |
Different credential from standard TU/PU BHM; see dedicated section below |
For every row above, treat the figure as a starting point for your own inquiry, not a quote you can act on directly.
If you've been researching "BHM fee in Nepal" partly because ISMT College came up in your search, it's worth being precise about what ISMT actually offers, since it is not a standard TU or Pokhara University BHM.
ISMT's hospitality-related program is the BSc (Hons) International Tourism and Hospitality Management, delivered in academic partnership with the University of Sunderland (UK). It is structured as a 3-year program, commonly built on a BTEC HND foundation for the first two years, leading into the final University of Sunderland degree year, and is offered at ISMT's Kathmandu, Chitwan, Butwal, and Biratnagar campuses.
A few points worth understanding if you're comparing this against a standard BHM:
If what you actually want is a UK-affiliated hospitality degree, with the different structure and international positioning that comes with it, this program is a relevant option worth researching directly. If what you specifically want is a standard, TU- or Pokhara University-affiliated Bachelor of Hotel Management, compare this program's structure carefully against that goal before assuming it's a direct substitute.
To get current, accurate information, including this program's actual current fee structure, admission requirements, and scholarship terms, contact ISMT's admissions team directly or review the official programme page.
BHM fees in Nepal vary by institution, university affiliation, location, and how the fee structure is organized, and there is no single nationwide figure that applies to every student. The only reliable way to compare colleges fairly is to look at the complete cost, tuition plus admission, registration, examination, practical, internship, and living expenses, rather than a single advertised number. Before choosing a college, confirm the total program fee, exactly what it includes, any additional charges, current scholarship terms, the quality of practical training and internship support, and the university affiliation, directly with the institution, in writing, rather than relying on a third-party estimate.
If you're specifically researching ISMT's University of Sunderland-affiliated hospitality programme as an alternative to a standard BHM, reach out to ISMT's admissions team for the current fee structure, scholarship terms, and admission requirements for that specific program.
How much does BHM cost?
There is no single nationwide BHM fee in Nepal. Based on currently available third-party reporting, total four-year BHM program costs commonly range from roughly NPR 2 lakh at government/subsidized institutions to around NPR 10 lakh at some private colleges, depending on university affiliation, location, and institution. Always confirm the current figure directly with your target college.
Which college is best for BHM in Nepal?
There's no single best college for every student, and no transparent, evidence-based methodology supports naming one. The right choice depends on total fee, university affiliation, practical training facilities, internship support, location, and scholarship availability. Compare colleges using a defined checklist rather than relying on a general "best college" claim.
What is the salary of BHM in Nepal?
There is no official, centralized wage survey for BHM graduates in Nepal, so no single salary figure applies universally. Pay varies by role (entry-level, supervisory, or managerial), employer, hotel category, location, and experience, and no outcome can be guaranteed by any program.
How many subjects are in BHM?
The exact number varies by university and curriculum. Tribhuvan University's BHM, for example, requires 126 credits across four years. Common subject areas across Nepali BHM programs include Food Production, Food and Beverage Service, Front Office, Housekeeping, Tourism, Hospitality Marketing, Accounting, Management, HR, Hospitality Law, Event Management, and Internship/Industrial Training.
How much does BHM cost in Nepal?
It varies by institution; third-party reporting suggests a typical range of roughly NPR 2 lakh to NPR 10 lakh for the full four-year program, with government institutions at the lower end. Confirm the current figure directly with your target college.
What is the average BHM fee in Nepal?
There's no single official average, since no centralized government fee table exists for BHM. Reported figures vary widely between government, TU-affiliated private, Pokhara University-affiliated, and internationally affiliated programs.
How much are BHM fees in Kathmandu?
Kathmandu fees vary by college; NATHM, a government institution in Kathmandu, has been reported at approximately NPR 575,000 total (third-party sourced, not officially confirmed), while private Kathmandu colleges vary considerably. Confirm directly with each institution.
Is BHM expensive in Nepal?
It depends on the institution. Government/subsidized options are generally more affordable than private colleges, and internationally affiliated hospitality programs tend to sit at the higher end of the cost range.
What is included in BHM fees?
Depending on the college, fees can include tuition, admission, university registration, examinations, practical/lab training, and sometimes uniform or internship-related costs. What's bundled together versus billed separately varies by institution, so always ask for an itemized breakdown.
Does BHM have practical fees?
Many colleges charge a practical or lab fee covering kitchen, food and beverage, front office, and housekeeping training, though whether this is itemized separately or bundled into the general fee depends on the college.
Are scholarships available for BHM?
Some colleges offer merit-based, entrance-based, or need-based scholarships, with eligibility and amounts varying by institution. No verified source confirms a universal full scholarship for BHM at any Nepali institution; always confirm current terms directly with the college.
Can I study BHM after +2 Management?
Generally yes; +2 Management is a common and directly relevant background for BHM admission, though specific eligibility criteria (minimum grades, entrance tests) vary by university and college and should be confirmed with your target institution.
Can I study BHM after +2 Science?
Many BHM programs in Nepal accept students from +2 Science, Management, or other streams, subject to the specific university's and college's eligibility criteria and entrance requirements. Confirm with your target institution.
Is BHM a 4-year course?
The standard Tribhuvan University and Pokhara University BHM programs in Nepal are 4-year, 8-semester degrees. Some internationally affiliated hospitality programs, such as ISMT's University of Sunderland-affiliated BSc (Hons) International Tourism and Hospitality Management, use a different structure (3 years in that specific case), so confirm the duration for any specific program you're considering.
How many semesters are there in BHM?
The standard TU/PU BHM runs 8 semesters across 4 years. Programs with different structures, such as internationally affiliated degrees, may be organized differently.
What is the salary after BHM in Nepal?
There's no official wage survey specific to BHM graduates. Pay varies significantly by role, employer, hotel category, location, and experience, ranging from entry-level hospitality roles to supervisory and managerial positions over time.
Which college is best for BHM in Nepal?
There's no single best college for every student. Compare total fee, affiliation, practical training facilities, internship support, scholarships, and location against your own goals rather than relying on an unsupported ranking.
Also Read: BHM Courses in Nepal: A Comprehensive Guide 2026
Best BHM Colleges in Nepal - A Guide 2026
BBA or BHM: Which is Better for Your Career? 2026 Guide
Scope of BHM in Nepal: Career, Salary & Opportunities in 2026